Firearms Training – Courses

NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting

Fee: $125.00
Class Duration:
8 Hours
Location(s):
New Age Training Facility, Springfield, VA
Format(s):
Classroom, Range
Pre-requisite(s): Must be 21 years or older to register.

View Dates

Taught by an NRA certified instructor, the NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting course covers gun safety rules, proper operation of revolvers and/or semi-automatic pistols, ammunition knowledge and selection, selecting and storing a pistol, fundamentals of shooting, and pistol inspection and maintenance. The instructor validates student comprehension and application of gun safety rules; range protocol; proper handling; loading and unloading procedures; application of pistol shooting fundamentals; stable shooting positions; live fire; and a final shooting qualification.

Maryland Initial Handgun Permit

Fee: $275.00
Class Duration: 16 hours
Location(s):  New Age Training Facility, Springfield, VA
Format(s): Classroom, Range
Pre-requisite(s): Must be 21 years or older to register.

View Dates

The Maryland Handgun Permit course takes students through classroom instruction and covers the following topics: application requirements; safe gun handling rules; pistol parts and operation; ammunition knowledge and selection; cleaning and maintenance, holster selection, Maryland firearms laws; use of daily force; developing the proper mindset when using a pistol; and interaction with law enforcement. Students who qualify under Maryland’s Good and Substantial Reason law will be able to obtain a permit to carry a handgun.

Maryland Handgun Permit–Renewal

Fee: $175.00
Class Duration: 8 Hours + Range
Location(s): New Age Training Facility, Springfield, VA
Format(s): Classroom, Range
Pre-requisite(s): Must be 21 years or older to register.

View Dates

Students enrolled in the Maryland Handgun Permit–Renewal course will receive a refresher on the following topics: renewal requirements; safe gun handling rules; pistol parts and operation; ammunition knowledge and selection; cleaning and maintenance, holster selection, and updates on changes in Maryland firearms laws.

Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit

Fee: $125.00
Class Duration: 8 Hours
Location(s): New Age Training Facility, Springfield, VA
Format(s): Classroom, Range
Pre-requisite(s): Must be 21 years or older to register.

View Dates

The Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit course takes students through classroom instruction and covers the following topics: application requirements; safe gun handling rules; pistol parts and operation; ammunition knowledge and selection; cleaning and maintenance, holster selection, Virginia  firearms laws; use of daily force; developing the proper mindset when using a pistol; and interaction with law enforcement.

08E- VA Shoutgun– Entry Level

Fee: $75.00
Class Duration: 3 Hours + Range
Location(s): New Age Training Facility, Springfield, VA
Format(s): Classroom, Range
Pre-requisite(s): Must be 21 years or older to register.

View Dates

This course includes classroom and range time learning how to shoot shotguns. Students learn rules for safe gun handling; shotgun parts and operation; shotgun shell components; shotgun shell malfunctions; shooting fundamentals; range rules; shooting at targets; cleaning; and continued opportunities for skill development. Students will receive the Basics of Shotgun Shooting handout, , Take a Basics of Shotgun examination, and receive a course completion certificate.

08R- VA Shoutgun– Re-Qualification

Fee: $25.00
Class Duration: 2 Hours + Range
Location(s):
New Age Training Facility, Springfield, VA
Sharp Shooters, Springfield, VA
Format(s): Classroom, Range
Prerequisite(s): Must be 21 years or older to register.

View Dates

Students enrolled in the Virginia Shoutgun –Renewal course will receive a refresher on the following topics: renewal requirements; safe gun handling rules; shotgun parts and operation; ammunition knowledge and selection; cleaning and maintenance, and updates on changes in Virginia firearms laws.